## **ILA WILLIAMS MEMORIAL AWARD**

Mount Baker Square Dance Council established the Ila Williams Memorial Award in 2007 in memory of Ila Williams, who was an avid square dancer, and Mount Baker Council officer, for all her outstanding efforts and many contributions to the promotion of square dancing in Snohomish County and the State of Washington.

## **Criteria for Selection:**

- The Ila Williams Memorial Award shall be presented at the Mount Baker Council Spring Festival Dance each year to a Mount Baker Council area dancer (individual, couple, caller or cuer) who have done an outstanding job of promoting square dancing or round dancing in the Mount Baker Council area.
- The Award is to honor a person or couple for the time and effort they have devoted to our hobby.
- The current holder shall retain the award for one year and shall select the following year's recipient, outside their own club, and present the award to the new recipient at the next Mount Baker Council Spring Festival Dance.

Each club or individual may send a nomination to the current recipient who serves as the current year's Chairperson. The nomination should be accompanied by a resume (write-up) of the nominee's accomplishments. Nominations aid in choosing a recipient and do not mean they must be chosen from those nominations. The current holder may utilize any method they choose in selecting the recipient.

If you submitted a resume for a nominee who did not get chosen, please update the resume with current activities and resubmit it.

The deadline for nominations is generally February 1 of each year. Send nominations along with your write up/resume of your nominee to the current recipient.

## **Ila Williams Award Recipients**

- 2007 Shorty & Tex Maneval
- 2008 Frank Rousseau & Jean Raymond
- 2009 Dave & Bonnie Harry
- 2010 Ken & Audrey Sharp
- 2011 Jim & Polly Burnside
- 2012 Doug & Pat Coleman
- 2013 John & Rosie Hayes
- 2014 Cliff & Sharan McCracken
- 2015 Ray & Cindy Gallagher
- 2016 Ron and Gailyn Ploeg
- 2017 Carol Harris
- 2018 Roy & Geri Johnson
- 2019 Oren & Lew Gaskill
- 2020 Lee & Lorna Barnhart
- 2021 no award given
- 2022 Doug Keyes
- 2023 Sammi & Dave Fredenburg
- 2024 Jo Ann Pyle & Brooks Bennett